Stub44 vs My Paycheck Calculator
My Paycheck Calculator covers local taxes in 14 states, stock pay, and exports. See how it compares with Stub44 on W-4 inputs, garnishments, and price.
Disclosure: Stub44 is our app. It is listed on the App Store as “Salary Calculator +” (id 6762491263). This comparison is written honestly, including the places where My Paycheck Calculator is the better fit. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store and Google Play as of September 2026.
Quick answer
My Paycheck Calculator by Bird Software LLC is a paycheck and tax estimator that has been on the App Store since 2023, with an Android version on Google Play. It covers federal, state, and some city and county taxes, plus stock pay, investment income, and retirement projections. Its store page does not say what its nine in-app purchases unlock.
Stub44 is a gross-to-net paycheck calculator for all 50 states plus DC, with full W-4 inputs, pre-tax and post-tax deductions, and garnishments. It is free to download and sells Pro at $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year.
If you owe city or county tax in one of 14 states, or want two job offers side by side, pick My Paycheck Calculator. If you want to enter your W-4 as written or account for a wage garnishment, pick Stub44.
Comparing more than these two? See our roundup of salary calculator apps.
Side-by-side
| Feature | Stub44 | My Paycheck Calculator |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iOS + Android | iOS + Android |
| US App Store rating | No App Store ratings yet | 4.7 (244 ratings) |
| Google Play rating | 4.8, 1K+ downloads | 4.5, 10+ downloads |
| Last updated | August 2026 | September 2026 |
| Free-tier limits | Not stated | Not stated; 2026 tax-year calculations free for all users since March 2026 |
| Paid plans | Pro - Weekly $2.99; Pro - Annual $29.99, with a 7-day free trial | Nine entries named only by length: 1 week $1.59 to $3.99; 1 month $3.99 to $5.99; 12 months $17.99 to $34.99 |
| Take-home pay breakdown | Yes, full gross-to-net | Yes |
| Federal and state income tax | Yes, all 50 states + DC | Yes, all 50 states + DC |
| City and county tax | Not stated | Yes, 14 states |
| W-4 inputs | Yes, post-2020 and pre-2020 forms plus state allowances | Not stated |
| Garnishments | Yes, child support, IRS levy, creditor | Not stated |
| Multiple jobs / profiles | Yes, saved profiles you switch between; no side-by-side view stated | Yes, multiple employers and states at once, with side-by-side scenarios |
| FICA (Social Security + Medicare) | Yes, with year-to-date wage-base capping and the Additional Medicare surtax | Yes |
| Filing statuses | 5 named | Not stated in full; married filing jointly named |
| Pay periods | 8, daily to yearly | Any frequency from annual to hourly |
| Hourly and overtime | Yes, multiple overtime entries | Yes, with different hours each week since July 2026 |
| Pre-tax deductions | Yes, 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), SIMPLE IRA, HSA, FSA | Yes, 401(k), IRA, employer match, HSA, FSA |
| Tips, bonuses, commissions | Yes | Yes, plus shift differentials |
| Flat-percentage mode | Yes, a simple cut without the US tax engine | Not stated |
| Tax years stated | Not stated | 2021 to 2026 |
| Requires | iOS 15.0 or later | iOS 17.0 or later |
| Export | Not stated | PDF, Excel, CSV, image |
| Languages | 1 (English) | 1 (English) |
| Ads | No | No ads indicated |
| Account required | No, works offline | Not stated |
| Data stays on device | Yes, calculations stay on the device, with no account | Not stated; syncs through iCloud across iPhone and iPad |
| Privacy label | Identifiers used to track you and linked to you; Purchases, Usage Data, Diagnostics not linked to you | No data used to track you; Diagnostics not linked to you |
Where My Paycheck Calculator wins
It has a track record. My Paycheck Calculator has been on the App Store since 2023 and holds a 4.7 rating from 244 ratings, 206 of them five stars. Version 4.3 came out in September 2026. Stub44 was released in 2026 and has no App Store ratings yet.
It handles local taxes and several jobs at once. The listing covers city and county taxes in 14 states, including New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Michigan. You can run a paycheck across multiple employers and states at the same time, save scenarios, and compare two estimates side by side. Stub44’s listing states no local income tax, and it switches between saved profiles instead of showing them side by side.
It covers more than one paycheck. The listing adds stock compensation (ISOs, NSOs, and RSUs), dividends and capital gains, self-employment income, a refund or amount-owed estimate, and retirement projections. It names the tax years it supports, 2021 to 2026, keeps up to 6 years of history, and exports to PDF, Excel, CSV, or an image. Inputs sync through iCloud across iPhone and iPad. Stub44’s listing names no tax year and no export format.
Its privacy label declares less. My Paycheck Calculator’s App Store label declares no data used to track you. Its only entry is Diagnostics, not linked to you. Stub44’s label declares Identifiers used to track you and linked to you.
Where Stub44 wins
It takes your W-4 as written. My Paycheck Calculator’s listing names no W-4 fields and asks for withholdings only to estimate a refund. Stub44 takes the post-2020 and pre-2020 W-4, including two jobs, dependent credits, extra withholding, and allowances, plus state allowances such as the NJ-W4. It also names five filing statuses, where My Paycheck Calculator’s listing names only married filing jointly.
It handles garnishments. My Paycheck Calculator’s listing covers a long list of payroll deductions, from health insurance to union dues, but never mentions garnishments. Stub44 has inputs for child support, an IRS levy, and creditor garnishment.
It works outside the US tax system. My Paycheck Calculator covers US federal tax plus the 50 states and DC, and its listing describes no flat-rate mode. Stub44 has a flat-percentage mode that takes a set share off your gross pay, and since the August 2026 update its currency follows your device region.
It runs on older iPhones with no account. My Paycheck Calculator requires iOS 17.0 or later, and its listing does not say whether it needs an account or works offline. Stub44 runs on iOS 15.0 or later, needs no account, and works offline.
Pricing
- Stub44 is free to download. Pro is $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year, with a 7-day free trial. What Pro adds is not spelled out on the store page.
- My Paycheck Calculator by Bird Software LLC is free to download, and its 2026 tax-year calculations have been free for all users since March 2026. The US App Store lists nine in-app purchases, named only by length: 1 week at $1.59, $2.99, or $3.99; 1 month at $3.99 or $5.99; and 12 months at $17.99, $19.99, $29.99, or $34.99. What they unlock, and which price is current, is not spelled out on the store page. The listing mentions no trial.
If you pay for a full year, Stub44 Pro costs $29.99, while My Paycheck Calculator’s 12-month entries run from $17.99 to $34.99 and its store page does not say which one you would be charged.
Which one should you pick?
Pick My Paycheck Calculator if you owe city or county tax in one of its 14 states, want to compare two job offers side by side, need PDF or spreadsheet exports, or want stock pay and a refund estimate in the same app.
Pick Stub44 if you want to enter your W-4 as written, need to account for a wage garnishment, want a flat-percentage mode outside the US, or use an iPhone that can’t run iOS 17.
Want a quick number before you download anything? Our free W-4 withholding planner and take-home pay calculator by state run in the browser with no download.
Frequently asked questions
Is My Paycheck Calculator free?
It is free to download, and its 2026 tax-year calculations have been free for all users since March 2026. The US App Store lists nine in-app purchases, named only by length: 1 week at $1.59, $2.99, or $3.99; 1 month at $3.99 or $5.99; and 12 months at $17.99, $19.99, $29.99, or $34.99. The store page does not say what they unlock or which price is current. Stub44 is also free to download, with Pro at $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year and a 7-day free trial.
Does My Paycheck Calculator include city and county taxes?
Yes. Its listing covers city and county taxes in 14 states: Alabama, Colorado, Delaware, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oregon, and Pennsylvania. It covered New York only until February 2026. Stub44 itemizes state payroll items such as CA SDI and NY PFL, but its listing does not state local income tax.
Can My Paycheck Calculator compare job offers side by side?
Yes. Its listing says you can save scenarios, compare two estimates side by side, and calculate across multiple employers and states at once. Stub44 saves paycheck profiles for jobs and offers and switches between them with one tap, but its listing does not describe a side-by-side view.
Does My Paycheck Calculator use my W-4?
Its listing names no W-4 fields and mentions your withholdings only for estimating a refund or amount owed. Stub44 takes both the post-2020 and pre-2020 W-4, including two jobs, dependent credits, extra withholding, and allowances, plus state allowances such as the NJ-W4.
What do the privacy labels for My Paycheck Calculator and Stub44 say?
My Paycheck Calculator's App Store label declares no data used to track you. Its only entry is Diagnostics, not linked to you, used for analytics and app functionality. Stub44's label declares Identifiers used to track you and linked to you, plus Purchases, Usage Data, and Diagnostics not linked to you.